First Day of Sophomore Year

I swear I’m constantly reminded that I have diabetes! Today in class, my pump alarm started going off! How embarrassing! This is the first day of the semester and I really don’t know too many people in the class. The professor was going over the syllabus and my arm starts beeping. Naturally everyone looks at me, the source, and I begin to feel like a tiny ant. All those eyes, starting at my abnormality. I just can’t but feel like diabetes runs my life. I’ve been so busy lately that I forgot it was going to check when it would expire. There are so many extra precautions and extra things I have to go through so things like this don’t happen. Other diabetics and parents of diabetic children have told me that managing this, really is a job (too bad we don’t get paid for it! ).

I guess I just have to hope for the best and prepare a little better. I know life isn’t fair, but it really sucks having to deal with this extra stuff. Oh well, another day of school tomorrow. Who knows, maybe this is a good start-up conversation with a curious professor? I guess there could be a positive somewhere… I hope.

Leave a Reply

