Fate

It’s funny how things happen sometimes. One minute, I’m writing an email about how much diabetes sucks. It’s isolating, annoying and always on my mind. I just got so angry and sad that I started tearing up (having low blood sugar just made me extra emotional). The next minute, I’m walking to class and spot another girl with an insulin pump. It’s so rare to see another T1D outside of a formalized setting. I stopped her right in her tracks. I dropped my bag and showed her my pump, like an excited kid shows another their new toy. It’s funny how when I was getting so down about this awful disease am so angry at what it does to me, that someone who is like me appears. I swear sometimes I really have to question my religious beliefs because that’s pretty coincidental.

Leave a Reply

